• Cocos Island Cooperative Society Ltd

    Cocos Island Cooperative Society Ltd

  1. 1

Events

2016 Public Holidays

In 2016, the following public holidays are to be observed on the Cocos Keeling Islands:

New Years Day: Friday 1 January 2016
Australia Day: Tuesday 26 January 2016 (Virgin flight day)
Good Friday: Friday 25 March 2016 (Toll freighter day)
Easter Monday: Monday 28 March 2016
Self Determination Day: Wednesday 6 April 2016
Anzac Day: Monday 25 April 2106
Hari Raya Puasa: Thursday 7 July 2016
Hari Raya Haji: Tuesday 13 September 2016 (Virgin flight day)
Islamic New Year: Monday 3 October 2016
Hari Maulaud Nabi: Monday 12 December 2016
Christmas Day: Monday 26 December 2016 (in lieu of Sunday 25 December 2016)
Boxing Day: Tuesday 27 December (in lieu of Monday 26 December 2016) (Virgin flight day)

2016 Defence White Paper

On Thursday, March 3, 2016 , the Australian Government, Department of Defence, released 2016 Defence White Paper and 2016 Integrated Investment Program. These may be viewed here.

The 2016 Defence White Paper is the policy document, and the 2016 Integrated Investment Program provides the costing and time frames for the policy initiatives.

Both documents refer to the upgrade of the Cocos airfield with the 2016 Integrated Investment Program, page 90, stating that $100 to $200 million is to be spent within the period 2016 to 2021 on the upgrade of the Cocos airfield.

Inquiry Into Governance in the Indian Ocean Territories

The Joint Standing Committee on the National Capital and External Territories has tabled its final report for the inquiry into governance in the Indian Ocean Territories.

The report is available on the Committee’s website.

The report focuses on further measures to strengthen the IOT economy and addresses long-standing service-delivery and governance issues.